Let’s just keep it real

20150917_06595210492463_10203176194619243_4225505680162469397_n11751966_10153401541935937_6010757806981262166_n

You may have heard the slang term, “Let’s just keep it 100…” I thought about using that for a headline but then I decided that maybe that was just a little too “hood.” But I do want to reveal a few things about myself today.  I got this idea from a post I did on Facebook a little while ago.  My son used to love to wear his Spiderman costume everywhere he went when he was little.  As I said on Facebook, I was uncertain whether I wanted to expose him to possible ridicule but most people just thought it was cute.  In fact, the day we were at Aquatica, a few young ladies asked if they could take a picture with him.  Back then, he didn’t mind taking pictures.  But my whole point in bringing up that story is he was unafraid to be himself back then. He still has a bit of a rebel streak now.  He prefers to wear his hair long.  I don’t really mind; it is after all his hair.  I would like to take a little credit for helping him to have the confidence to be himself.

I want him to have that feeling much earlier than I did.  It has literally taken me years to understand that I can be myself and not have to worry so much about what other people think.  I talk about this a little in my book, “Life is a Precious Gift.” Yes, shameless plug!

Now for the big reveal… I like to dress up for Halloween.  I think it’s great fun pretending to be someone else for the day and night ( I also love grown up Halloween parties where I get to have a few drinks).  I enjoy a decent cigar, occasionally.  I know this is somewhat unusual for a lady but I love football, cooking on the grill and beer too so there’s that… I love bending the hell out of traditional gender roles.  I am totally heterosexual but I hate dresses and I love business suits.

So there you have it – BE YOURSELF! Screw whoever doesn’t like it.  Enjoy life, you only get one. Be happy, be kind, be dazzling and love EVERYONE for who they are.  God did not make any mistakes when he made us.

Leave a Reply

