My Two Cents on Marriage and Dating, Part II

So…before I said I didn’t date much in high school and college.  As it turns out, I had a “steady beau” in both high school and college. It seemed as though I had to put forth such an effort to get each of them that I didn’t feel the need to “play the field.” Also, young ladies who had multiple boyfriends back then were not looked upon favorably. There’s also the fact that most Aspies are quite loyal and often stay in relationships long after we should have been gone.

Now that I’m a grown-up, I’ve begun to weigh the pros and cons of being in a “steady” relationship.  On the one hand, you have someone who’s always there to support you when you need them.  On the other hand, you have someone who’s ALWAYS THERE… What if you’re the type of person who likes to have their own space? When you’re in a committed, monogamous relationship, you have to consider your significant other’s feelings and needs. You also have to put the shoe on the other foot as well.  What happens when you’re the one feeling down and you need comforting but you have pushed your partner away and they really aren’t feeling like taking on the role of supportive partner?  The answer, in my opinion is you can’t have it both ways.

There has to be give and take as well as compromise in a healthy relationship. As you spend more time together and learn to respect each other’s boundaries and needs, you can learn to give each other space as well as supporting and comforting each other when the need arises.

Now allow me to play “Devil’s Advocate” for a moment.  Is there something in between for grown folks who want to have the comfort and support of a significant other but not the commitment. Can you get your physical needs met without being in a marriage or relationship? Would you consider that immoral? In my observations, there seem to be a lot of folks out there who want to have the milk without buying the cow…

Let’s save that for another discussion.  In the meantime, check out my new YouTube Channel – “Aspie Cougar.” As soon as I post this blog, I’m going to add a question for us to mull over.  I hope you will join the discussion with the grown folks.

Intro to my new You Tube Channel

Leave a Reply

