My Two Cents on Marriage and Dating – It’s Cuffing Season y’all!

Here is my YouTube video to go along with this post. I have been having technical difficulties getting it to embed… It is cuffing season 

So as you can see, I am changing the format slightly. I am no longer giving them numbers. Instead, I will be giving them subtitles. When I came up with idea for this post, I admit it was a little tongue in cheek. I mean no one is going to realistically structure their lifestyle around the weather, right…?  But let’s talk seriously though. Suppose it actually has less to do with the weather and more to do with the fact that people who are normally happy go lucky singles start to feel the loneliness more during the holidays? After all, people are often with their families and if you are unattached, you might not have a family to spend the holidays with and that makes not having a significant other…well, even more significant.

Consider the fact that suicide rates go up during the holidays. Couple mental illness with all these darn cheerful, family-oriented holiday festivities and viola! – cuffing season.

People need and want to be loved, valued, cuddled…even if it is a facade. And consider this- Is all of this exacerbated by being on the Autism Spectrum? Many people on the spectrum have strained relationships with their families.  Many people on the spectrum have a terrible time navigating the dating world. If someone who is equally lonely and or desperate comes along…meet your new cuffing buddy…

So what do y’all think? Change in weather, change in attitude towards commitment?  I have done a little research for us and here is what I found. Huffington Post had this to offer:  Cuffing Season

What do you think? Happy Cuffing Season y’all!

Leave a comment